Sponsored by ACM SIGMOBILE

September 2, 2005
Cologne, Germany

Call For Papers

The goal of the workshop is to address and discuss the technical and business challenges, ideas, views, and research results in providing public wireless Internet services and applications for nomadic users in small, highly-populated, public spaces (wireless LANs and "hotspots").

We are specifically interested in work dealing with network layer and above (layers 3-7). However, cross-layer solutions including MAC interaction as well as ESS management via IAPP are welcome. Within the context of interest to this workshop, a list of topics includes, but is not limited to:

  • Applications and services
  • New service and business models
  • Public WLAN and hotspot architectures
  • Community-owned WLAN infrastructures
  • WLAN-based ad-hoc network service creation and management
  • Metro-area hotspots using 802.11/802.16 mesh
  • Multi-radio mesh node designs
  • Self-configuring mesh networks for public hotspots
  • Mobile routers for transient, portable hotspots
  • Application case studies of mobile routers
  • Interworking with other wireless systems, e.g., 3G, 802.16
  • Mobility, roaming, and handoff management
  • Context-aware services and technologies
  • Location-aware applications and services
  • Multimedia wireless applications, e.g., Voice over WLAN (VoWLAN)
  • Authentication, accounting, billing and payment issues
  • Security and privacy in public WLANs
  • Middleware support
  • Service location and discovery
  • Traffic measurements and modeling
  • Case studies on deployed platforms and experimental testbeds

Please consult the Program Co-Chairs Renato Lo Cigno (locigno@dit.unitn.it) and Milind M. Buddhikot (milind@dnrc.bell-labs.com) if you are uncertain whether your paper falls within the scope of the workshop.

Important Dates:

  • Paper Submission Deadline: May 30, 2005, 5pm EST

  • Extended Deadline: June 06, 2005, 5pm EST

  • Notification: July 1, 2005

  • Camera Ready Due: July 20, 2005

Paper Submission:

This year's workshop solicits two types of contributions: regular papers and posters. Submitted regular papers must not be currently under review for any other publication. The poster session will provide an excellent opportunity for initial feedback on early research results.  Posters may not preclude concurrent submissions on the same topic in regular conferences and journals.

All submissions will be reviewed by Technical Program Committee members, and will be judged by their technical merit, originality, and relevance to the workshop. All accepted regular papers and poster descriptions will be published in the workshop proceedings, which will be available at the ACM digital library. Selected regular papers will also be included in a special issue of an ACM journal. The page limits for a regular paper and a poster description are 10 and 3 pages, respectively.

All submissions will be handled electronically via the EDAS system. The exact format of the submission should be referred to the submission guideline at the workshop home page.

We expect authors of accepted papers/posters will attend the workshop and present their work.

Organizing Committee:

     General Chair

  • Sunghyun Choi, Seoul National University, Korea

     Technical Program Co-Chairs

  • Milind M. Buddhikot, Lucent Bell Labs, USA

  • Renato Lo Cigno, University of Trento, Italy

     Publicity Chair

  • Daji Qiao, Iowa State University, USA

     Publications Chair

  • Anand Prasad, Docomo Euro Labs, Germany

     Panel Chair

  • Giuseppe Bianchi, University of Roma Tor Vergata, Italy

Steering Committee:

  • Parviz Kermani, IBM Research, USA - Committee Chair

  • Giuseppe Bianchi, University of Roma Tor Vergata, Italy

  • Sung-Ju Lee, HP Labs, USA

Technical Program Committee:

  • Milind Buddhikot, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies

  • Andrew Campbell, Columbia University

  • Claudio Casetti, Politecnico di Torino

  • Yatin Chawathe, Intel Research at Seattle

  • Sunghyun Choi, Seoul National University

  • Marco Conti, CNR - Istituto CNUCE

  • Laura Feeney, Swedish Institute of Computer Science

  • Gabor Fodor, Ericsson Research

  • Rosario Garroppo, University of Pisa

  • Javier Gomez, National University of Mexico

  • Xingang Guo, Intel Corp.

  • Kyunghun Jang, Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology

  • Byoung-Jo Kim, AT&T Labs - Research

  • Young-bae Ko, Ajou University

  • John Krumm, Microsoft Research

  • Sung-Ju Lee, HP Labs

  • Yui-Wah Lee, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies

  • John Lin, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies

  • Renato Lo Cigno, Universita di Trento

  • Stefan Mangold, Swisscom Innovations

  • Saishankar Nandagopalan, Philips Research USA

  • Saverio Niccolini, NEC Europe Ltd., Network Laboratories

  • George Polyzos, Athens University of Economics and Business

  • Anand Prasad, DoCoMo Euro-Labs

  • Daji Qiao, Iowa State University

  • Bill Schilit, Intel Research

  • Puneet Sharma, HP Labs

  • Rajeev Shorey, IBM Research, New Delhi

  • Raghupathy Sivakumar, Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Young-Joo Suh, Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH)

  • Ilenia Tinnirello, University of Palermo

  • Yang Xiao, University of Memphis